Marshal Of IAF

Member Photo
Marshal of the Indian Air Force Arjan Singh DFC was born on 15 May 1919 at Lyallapur, educated at Montgomery and later at Government College in Lahore. He was selected for flying training course at Cranwell in 1939 and was last of Indian Air Force officers trained there and subsequently got commissioned as a pilot in Royal Indian Air Force in Dec 1939. He joined No. 1 Sqn at Ambala, first on Wapiti aircraft and then converted to Hurricane aircraft. He was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC) in 1944 for his outstanding leadership in Burma campaign during World War II. He was appointed as the Chief of the Air Staff in July 1964 and promoted to the rank of Air Chief Marshal in December 1965. Air Chief Marshal Arjan Singh, DFC after 33 years of retirement was made the first ever ‘Marshal of the Air Force’ in recognition of his extra ordinary services on Friday, 25 January 2002. He passed away on 16 Sep 2017.
  • For queries regarding AFCAT application, admit card and AFCAT centre, contact - AFCAT Cell
  • Tele: 020-25503 105 / 7666210542
    Tele: 020-25503 106 / 7666211863
  • Tele Timings: Monday to Friday.
    9:30 am - 1 pm & 2 pm - 5:00 pm
  • E-Mail:


भारतीय वायु सेना